Szakértelem, gyakorlat és életre szóló kapcsolatok 1870 óta.

ECTS Credit system

ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) is an important element of the Bologna process, meant to help international students make the most of their study abroad experience.

What are ECTS credits good for?

The ECTS credit system makes degree programs and student performance more transparent and comparable all across European Union countries. ECTS replaced or complemented the different local (national) standards within Europe. Thanks to the ECTS credit system, students from EU countries can go abroad and study for a degree that will be universally accepted all throughout the European Union. 

How do ECTS-credits work?

By completing a course, seminar, module, etc., you get awarded ECTS-credit points. Every ECTS credit point represents the amount of workload you accomplished in that period of time.

Some examples of ECTS credits assigned per degree type are:

1 year of studies - 60 ECTS-credits;
3-year Bachelor’s program - 180 ECTS-credits;
2-year Master’s program - 120 ECTS-credits.

The Hungarian academic credit system following the Hungarian law is an ECTS-compatible system. The calculation of the credits is based on the number of working hours of the students (one credit is 30 student working hours, on average). 

System of assessment

At the end of the semester, the student’s study achievement is evaluated with a grade (5-excellent, 4-good, 3-medium or satisfactory, 2-sufficient or pass, 1-fail). The ECTS conversion table ensures transfer procedures between the Hungarian academic credit system and the ECTS. The recognition of courses completed abroad is based on the credit transfer regulation.

5 (excellent) - A, B excellent, very good
An excellent (5) grade is assigned to the student who thoroughly knows the entire subject matter and can safely apply its content.

4 (good) - C good
A good (4) grade is assigned to the student who thoroughly knows the entire subject matter.

3 (satisfactory) - D satisfactory
A satisfactory (3) grade is assigned to the student who knows significant portions of the subject matter.

2 (pass) - E sufficient
A pass (2) grade is assigned to the student who knows the significant parts of the course on a satisfactory level.

1 (fail) - FX, F fail
A fail (1) grade is assigned to the student who does not command sufficient knowledge.